4.18.2007

‭‮(Ω_Ω)Trying to waste time before reformating

ITT: Music

I lieks me mah music. I'm actually a bit elitist about music. But just a bit. I blame the radio station I DJ at. www.wbgufm.com

There's a saying at WBGU FM: Elitism is sexy. And it is. I haven't listened to regular radio or watched VH1/MTV by choice for months. I do not know what the world and society deems popular. Nor do I care. Regrettably I was tainted by all the rap on TV and the radio. I usually cannot stand Hip-Hop, even when I know that there is some good stuff out there. All of this "USA #1 boot in yer ass" country bullshit has also turned me away from that. Screaming. I'm not fond of it usually. I can stand it more than hip-hop and country, but not much. And pop is poop, so whatever.

I have a few genres that I particularly enjoy. Electronic music and indie rock. Also folk, blues, jazz, rock and classical. Electronic and indie are at the heart of my musical tastes. Some grinding digital music followed by some soothing acoustic is where it's at. The problem is the electronic crowd is very, uhh, selective? Indie crowd is generally just as pompous, but some indie has bits of digital goodness tucked in, so it's a bit easier.

I think it's the opposites that draw me to trying to combine them.

Some indie such as Anathallo is really folky, lyrically and instrumentally it's very "organic".
Anathallo - Hanasakajijii: Parts 4 and 1


Whereas electronic music, obviously, is electronic and digital. "Lifeless" or so some might think.


I think that might be where some of the common misconception lies. I think people judge electronic music by it's cover. Cold, lifeless, and uncaring. But that's not true. It carries all of the emotion of other types of music, it's just that some people use drugs to help bring them out. I don't however. I'm so enthralled by music as it is that I don't need any other brain alteration to enjoy it. Electronic music is actually more like classical music than anything else. Without lyrics, just listen to the raw music of it and try and pull the emotions out yourself.



Videos and more soon to come more of what?

No comments: